Hon’ble Chief Justice of Pakistan Mr. Justice Asif Saeed Khan Khosa presided over Award Distribution Ceremony of Model Criminal Trial Courts (MCTC) Judges in Supreme Court of Pakistan, Islamabad. The ceremony was attended by Mr.
Sohail Nasir DG MCTC, Mr. Hayat Ali Shah DG FJA, Ms. Huma Chughtai, Mr. Hafeez Ullah Khan, Mr. Abdul Matin, Mr. Muhammad Ali, Mr.Fakhar Zaman, Mr. Waqar Hussain, Mian Maqsood Ahmed, Mr. Islam Hafiz, Mr. Danish mukhtar deputy directors EJI cell and position holder MCAC & MCTC Judges from all over the Pakistan.

Addressing the participants, the Hon’ble Chief Justice of Pakistan said that indeed Model Courts materialized the vision of expeditious and inexpensive justice as envisaged in Article 37(d) of the Constitution of 1973 of Islamic Republic of Pakistan, which otherwise was just a dream before establishment of Model Criminal Trial Courts in the country. Efforts, devotion and commitment on the part of model court judges turned the dream of speedy and inexpensive justice into reality and litigants are getting prompt relief. The credit goes to the Model Court Judges who rejuvenated the ailing judicial system under existing and available resources and without any amendments in the given law. It has instilled a new sprit into masses to repose confidence in the institution of judiciary, which otherwise had always been blamed of undue delays.

The ceremony started with the recitation of Holy Quran.

After the welcome address by Raja Jahanzaib Akhtar Additional Director Model Courts. Mr. Hyatt Ali Shah director general Federal judicial Academy lauded the efforts of the model Court judges and termed it a huge contribution towards the national cause.

Thereafter, Mr. Sohail Nasir Director General Model Courts of Pakistan presented the performance of Model Civil Appellate Courts and Model Trial Magistrate Courts who had started functioning from 15 July 2019. Mr. Sohail Nasir apprised the participants that during a brief period of 88 days model civil appellate courts decided record number of 19316 cases, likewise Model Trial Magistrate Courts have decided 18908 cases and also recorded statements of 39906 witnesses. He informed Hon’ble Chief Justice of Pakistan that there are 26 jurisdictions where all four categories of civil appeals, civil revisions, family and rent appeals have been decided and pendency is reduced to zero by Model Civil Appellate Courts. There are five jurisdictions where Model Trial Magistrate Courts have decided all the pending criminal cases.

The Hon’ble Chief Justice appreciated the services rendered by Judges for this glorious national cause and distributed awards to the Model Court judges for deciding maximum number of cases.

Among distinction holders of model civil appellate courts were Shahbaz Hussain ADJ Sheikhupura, Ghulam Mujtaba Baloch ADJ Khanewal, Muhammed Fakhir Aftab Ahmad ADJ Pakpattan, Iftikhar Elahi ADJ Haripur, Saeed Ahmad ADJ DI khan, Hina Mehwish ADJ Mardan, Muhammad Aslam sheikh ADJ Karachi East, Ramesh Kumar ADJ Karachi south, Shabana Waheed ADJ Karachi central, Riaz Ahmad Kasi ADJ Quetta, Rakhshanda Shaheen ADJ Islamabad east, Javed Iqbal Sipra ADJ Islamabad west.

From among the judges of model civil appellate courts who decided all pending appeals and revisions while reducing the pendency in their respective jurisdictions as zero were Munawar Ali Lodhi DSJ Jacobabad, Jahangir Ahmad Dayo
DSJ Kambar Shahdad Kot, Ghulam Shah DSJ KASHMORE@KANDHKOT, Syed Zulfiqar Ali shah DSJ Tando Muhammad Khan, Mushtaq Ahmad Kalwar DSJ Tharparkar @Mithi, Zahoor Ahmad Kakro DSJ Thatha, Zarqaish Sani DSJ Hangu, Sadia Arshad DSJ Batagram, Muhammad Iqbal Khan DSJ Buner, Saima Asim ADJ Bannu, Qazi Ataullah ADJ Bajour, Ajmal Tahir ADJ Charsadda, Sultan Hussain adj Kurram, Wali Muhammad ADJ Mohmand, Rashidullah Kundi ADJ North Waziristan, Jamal Shah Mehsood ADJ Orakzai, Shukat Ahmad ADJ South Wazirastan, Muhammad Ali ADJ Larkana, Ghulam Farooq ADJ Sanghar, Awais Ahmed ADJ Shaheed Benazirabad, Qamar Yaseen Nadeem ADJ Chiniot, Muhammad Kashif ADJ Dera Ghazi Khan, Ghulam Shanbir Hussain ADJ Jhelum, Muhammad Ashiq ADJ Layyah, Malik Noor Khan Mianwali and Adnan Mushtaq ADJ Muzaffar Gharh.

Distinction holders from Model trial magistrate courts were: –

Mr. Khalid Mahmood, Judicial Magistrate, Sheikhupura;
Syed Mehmood Afzal Shah, Judicial Magistrate, Sialkot
Ms. Saadia Aslam, Judicial Magistrate, Gujranwala;
Mr. Muzammil Sipra, Judicial Magistrate, Lodhran
Mr. Ahsin Raza, Judicial Magistrate, Sheikhupura
Mr. Tilla Muhammad, Judicial Magistrate, Swat
Mr. Ejaz ur Rahman, Judicial Magistrate, Batgram
Mr. Nasir Khan, Judicial Magistrate, Chitral
Mr. Irshad Ali Mehsud, Judicial Magistrate, Hangu
Mr. Ehsan ul Haq, Judicial Magistrate, Swabi
Mr. Khalid Hussain Jatoi, Judicial Magistrate, Kandhkot
Mr. Khushi Muhammad Malik, Judicial Magistrate, Karachi South
Mr. Waqar Hussain, Judicial Magistrate, Badin
Mr. Asghar Ali, Judicial Magistrate, Tandu Muhammad Khan
Mr. Muhammad Iqbal, Judicial Magistrate, Lasbella
Ms. Praksa Noor, Judicial Magistrate, Quetta
Mr. Yahya Asif, Judicial Magistrate, Quetta
Ms. Raqiba Khan Akhunzada, Judicial Magistrate, Khuzdar
Ms. Shaista Khan Kundi, Judicial Magistrate, Islamabad West
Mr. Yasir Hafeez, Judicial Magistrate, Islamabad East.

The magistrates who decided all pending cases in their respective jurisdictions and reduced the pendency to zero were: –

Mr. Muhammad Imtiaz, Judicial Magistrate Oragzai
Mr. Muhammad Waheed Wali, Judicial Magistrate Kohistan Upper
Mr. Muhammad Asif, Judicial Magistrate Kohistan Lower
Mr. Shakeel Arshad, Judicial Magistrate South Waziristan
Mr. Tahir Khan, Judicial Magistrate Khyber and Muzammil Spra judicial Magistrate Lodhran.